RM Council & Administration

Council Picture 2014

Back Row (Left to Right): Rodney Last- Foreman, Sheldon Harder- Ward 4, Barrie Fraser- Ward 5, Harvie Takvam- Ward 3, Sharla Murray- Chief Administrative Officer

Front Row (Left to Right): Fred Dunn- Ward 6, John Peckover- Ward 1 Deputy Reeve, George Gray- Reeve, Barry Driedger- Ward 2

George Gray
George Gray,  Reeve

George Gray was elected to Council in 2014 as Reeve and served from 2006 to 2014 as Ward 4 Councillor.  He and his family live on the homestead of his Great Grandfather George Gray homesteaded in 1880 attained the same year the RM of Dufferin was incorporated. He and his wife Noreen have 5 children and 2 granddaughters. Half of his life was spent farming over 30 years, with the last 26 years being spent in the automotive business, retiring in 2016. George finds it a privilege to be able to serve the R.M. of Dufferin and be part of the exciting future of the municipality.

Tel: 204-828-3385 Cell: 204-745-8415 E-Mail: georgegray4@icloud.com

John Peckover
Deputy Reeve John Peckover – Ward 1 (Tp 6 & 7 Rg 3)

John Peckover has served on the RM of Dufferin Council since 2006 and represents Ward 1 (Sections 6-3W and 7-3W) at the very east of the municipality.  John and his wife, Faye, have three children; their son is involved in the family farm.  John serves the municipality on the Carman Dufferin Recreation Commission Board as well as on other local committees.

Tel: 204-745-3215 Cell: 204-745-0161 E-Mail: johnpeckover54@hotmail.com

Barry Dreidger
Barry Driedger – Ward 2 (Tp 6 & 7 Rg 4)

Barry Driedger has served on the RM of Dufferin Council since 2006.  Barry also served as a Councillor with the R.M. of Dufferin from 1985 – 1995. He served on the Carman Memorial Hospital Board as Chairman from 1994 – 1998. Barry is interested in maintaining roads, drainage, and furthering the progress of the R.M. of Dufferin.  Barry serves the municipality on the Boyne Regional Library Board as well as on other local committees.

Tel: 204-745-2846 Cell: 204-745-7146 E-Mail: barryd47@icloud.com

Harvie Takvam
Harvie Takvam – Ward 3 (Tp 6 Rg 5)

Elected in 2010, Harvie Takvam returns to Council as the representative for Ward 3 (Township 6, Range 5W) which he served from 1998 to 2002.  Harvie and his wife, Sandra, have two children and two grandchildren.  He and his brother, Ian, owned and operated Agrotak Ltd., from which Harvie has retired.  Harvie serves as Dufferin’s representative to the Pembina Valley Water Cooperative as well as on other local committees.

Tel: 204-745-6005 Cell: 204-745-7757 E-Mail: duffward3@gmail.com

Sheldon Harder
Sheldon Harder- Ward 4 (Tp 6 Rg 6 & N7)

Sheldon was elected to Council in 2014 as Ward 4 Councillor.  He and his wife Tanya have 3 children, 2 attending school in Carman. Some of Sheldon’s interests include golfing, curling, fishing and camping.  Sheldon has worked as Construction Foreman and excavator operator for the RM for a number of years as well.

Tel: 204-828-3283 Cell: 204-750-2173 E-Mail: duffward4@gmail.com

Barrie Fraser

Barrie Fraser – Ward 5 (Tp 5 & 6 Rg 7)

Elected in 2010, Barrie Fraser was a seasonal employee of the RM of Dufferin from 1990 to 2010.  His position as Weed Inspector took him to the very edge of the municipality and along almost every road with the tractor and mower or spray truck.  Barrie farms in and around Ward 5.  He and his wife, Cheryl, have three children that keep him busy with extra-curricular sports activities.

Tel: 204-745-6390 Cell: 204-750-3061. E-Mail: duffward5@gmail.com

Fred Dunn
Fred Dunn – Ward 6 (Tp 7 Rg 6W& 7)

Elected as a Councillor in 1995, Fred has been a cattle farmer all his life, and is now semi-retired. He and his wife Marj have two children and several grandchildren. In 1966 Fred joined the RM of Dufferin at the age of 16 and enjoyed 27 years of employment before running for Council and being elected in 1995. Fred brings a wealth of municipal history and information to the Council.

Tel: 204-745-0231 Cell: 204-745-8417. E-Mail: duffward6@gmail.com

Committees of Council

The Council of the Rural Municipality of Dufferin meets as a committee of the whole for the following Committees of the R.M. of Dufferin;  Legislative, Finance & Personnel, Public Works & Utilities, Water Management & Conservation, Economic Development, Public & Environmental Health and Welfare, and Recreation & Cultural Services. The Reeve is a member of all committees.

Carman/Dufferin Planning District – Reeve George Gray, Deputy Reeve John Peckover, Harvie Takvam

P.V.W.C. – Pembina Valley Water Cooperative – Harvie Takvam; John Peckover (alternate)
Municipal Weed Control Committee – Barrie Fraser

LaSalle Redboine Conservation District – Fred Dunn, Barrie Fraser (alternate)
Red River Basin South Chapter. – Barry Driedger, John Peckover (alternate)
Boyne Valley Water Initiative(Treherne Dam) – Fred Dunn, Sheldon Harder, Harvie Takvam(alternate)
Boyne River Watershed – Fred Dunn

PROTECTIVE SERVICESHarvie Takvam, Barry Driedger, Sheldon Harder (alternate)
St. Claude Veterinary Clinic – Fred Dunn, Barrie Fraser(alternate)

Carman Community Health Centre Board – Reeve George Gray
Healthy Communities, Carman & Dufferin – John Peckover
Safe Communities Carman Dufferin – Sheldon Harder
Carman & Community Seniors Resource Council – Fred Dunn
Cemetery Board (3 reps) – John Peckover, Harvie Takvam, Sheldon Harder
Dufferin Safety Committee – Harvie Takvam, Barry Driedger

Carman Dufferin Recreation Commission – John Peckover, Harvie Takvam
Memorial Hall Board (3 reps) – John Peckover, Harvie Takvam, Sheldon Harder
Boyne Regional Library Board – Barry Driedger
Dufferin Historical Society – Barry Driedger
Carman Dufferin Heritage Advisory Committee– Barrie Fraser, Sheldon Harder(alternate)
Dufferin Ag Society – Barrie Fraser, Sheldon Harder(alternate)
Graysville & Roseisle Community Group – Reeve George Gray/Sheldon Harder
Carman & Community Chamber of Commerce – John Peckover
Carman Dufferin Airport Commission – Reeve George Gray, Barry Driedger
Carman Pathway Committee – John Peckover
Carman Family Resource – Sheldon Harder

RM of Dufferin Administration

Administration Office
Memorial Hall
Box 100
12-2nd Avenue SW
Carman MB R0G 0J0

Memorial Hall
Office Hours: Monday through Friday 8:30 to 4:30
Phone: 204-745-2301
Fax: 204-745-6348

RM of Dufferin Administration Staff

Sharla MurraySharla Murray, Chief Administrative Officer
Jeanne HolmbergJeanne Holmberg, Administrative Assistant

Tyler KingTyler King, Economic Development Officer
Kim MacLellanKim MacLellan, Office Assistant
Rodney LastRodney Last, Foreman 204-745-2483